Stuart George

Crash Landelin

In Tastings on October 6, 2010 at 11:03 am

Last night (5 OCtober) I met with some friends at a charity quiz held in Pimlico.

Food and wine is BYO so I took a bottle of René Muré’s 2005 Sylvaner Cuvée Oscar Clos St Landelin.

I have only been to Alsace once and that was nearly ten years ago. I drank Alsacienne wines quite often when I worked in retail but hardly ever these days.

Anyway, I’d had this bottle lying around for a while and thought that its sweetness would appeal to my mates’s palates. It has 62 g/ltr sugar, though it didn’t taste all that sweet.

Clos Saint Landelin is a 15-hectare vineyard owned entirely by the Muré family. Cuvée Oscar is an old vine version of the basic Sylvaner and to me it tasted of grapefruit. I drank most of the bottle myself, so it must have been alright.

The handsome young couple in the background is Ruth and Patrick Kidd. Ruth is due to give birth to their first child next week, hence her slightly concerned look!

Leave a Reply

