Stuart George

Wordles (Between the Lines of Age)

In Uncategorized on September 27, 2010 at 4:31 pm

Recently I read David Chrystal’s A Little Book of Language, in which he mentions Wordle.com.

I had not come across this site before but it’s huge fun. Wordle generates “word clouds” from a text; the clouds give greater prominence to words that appear more frequently in that text.

I pumped in a 2,000-word article on the fine wine market and this is what it looks like:

I find it very depressing that the most frequently used words are “per cent”. I am not at all a statto – it took me three (or was it four?) attempts to pass a GCSE in maths. I did much better at English, though.

(Apologies to Neil Young for this post’s title).

Leave a Reply

