Stuart George

Pope discord

In Uncategorized on September 18, 2010 at 11:07 am

Very discreetly – it is not part of his “official” itinerary – the Pope will today visit St Peter’s Residence in the deeply unglamorous Meadow Road SW8, all of five minutes walk from my flat.

I am not a church goer or Catholic so I can take or leave his visit. I do like Alexander Pope, though!

Nonetheless, it is historic. I can remember my parents – both C of E and suspicious of Catholicism – being quite excited by Pope John Paul II’s visit to the UK in 1982. I saw his Easter Mass in Rome in 2002 when I was backpacking around Europe.

This week I read a highly amusing story about the how the Popemobile was developed after the attempted assassination of Pope John Paul in 1981. The Vatican commissioned a local firm to modify a Toyota, with the design to include Kevlar bodywork and bullet-proof glass but also, at the front, mountings for a couple of machine guns.

These were eventually dropped because, a  company spokesman admitted many years later, “it was decided it wouldn’t look good for the Pope to fight back.”

  1. It’s an upgrade from the old bible and shotgun approach.

  2. Pope discord…

    I found your entry interesting so I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

Leave a Reply

